Packaging Brief: Typography, Colour & Design

02/03/2014 § Leave a comment

After I had fully settled on the net design for my cologne box, it was down to the best bit: designing! If you look at my mood board, you can really get a feel for the type of man i’m targeting which is the modern day suited and booted. I imagine a man who shops in a mixture of high street and luxury designer label shops buying my Canadian Club Cologne as it has the history of expense and class but at a more affordable price.

To target this, I wanted to use a really clean and simple approach and the first thing that will attract attention is colour. Looking at the brands existing colour palette, I created a small colour chart to work from and to see which compliment each other best. As you can see their is a mixture of dark blues and greys to represent the suits and warm browns and oranges to represent the whiskey:

colour-board

I constructed my design and then adjusted my colour palette to see which I preferred. Initially in my head I was seeing blacks and oranges but when it was physically in front of me, I found it too harsh for the brand. After playing around a little more, I settled on a deep navy blue with pale orange accents. I really love the contrast between the two and think it works well to show a sophisticated male.

Moving on to the typography, I knew it had to be very basic and I also knew I wanted it to be in bright white so that it stands out well on the dark background I have chosen. With all this in mind, I looked through my selection of typefaces as well as having a look online and created a quick list to see which I preferred. The typeface needed to compliment the brands logo which was my main concern:

Type-Examples

Example 5 & 6 really didn’t work well with what I was going for as they’re too fussy and slightly feminine. In the end, I narrowed it down to example 1 & 12:

Dubiel

Dubiel

Tall, Dark & Handsome

Tall, Dark & Handsome

I tested them both out on my background and fit them too my net. I really like them both as they have different qualities but remain in my idea of ‘basic’. Dubiel has a similar style to the logo which is why I was drawn to it I think, but I also love the height and thickness of the Tall, Dark and Handsome font; it reminds me of the 1950s which is another quality I wanted it to have. Eventually, I settled on Tall, Dark and Handsome because I think it stands out next to the logo.

For the front of my packaging I wanted something that symbolised the scent I was selling as well as it’s reputation so I opted for smoke. Initially I was going to have white smoke to go with the white writing but I really like the subtlety of the black. I did a mirror affect so that the smoke looked the exact same at either side of the package and I really love how it turned out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Packaging Brief: Typography, Colour & Design at Taylor Sim.

meta

