Alcoholic Drinks Research

12/02/2014 § Leave a comment

For my recent packaging brief I decided that I wanted to target the male population as personally, I believe that men will be more inclined to purchase an aftershave from their favourite alcohol brand rather than a woman. I instantly knew I wanted to do a sophisticated product as I really love the Mad Men era of the 1940’s and 50’s. Below is my list of spirits i’ve chosen for further research:

  • Monkey’s Shoulder
  • Hendrick’s Gin
  • Johnny Walker’s Blue Label
  • Jack Daniels
  • Canadian Club Whiskey
  • Bombay Sapphire Gin

The majority of these are whiskey or gin based on the time period i’m coming from. I really love the Johnny Walker’s Blue Label overall appearance but with it’s hefty price tag (starting at a measly £135) it’s out of the question due to my mid-range target price. I’m also going to eliminate Jack Daniels purely based on the fact my friend is doing it and I want to work on something different.

I have now narrowed it down even further based on their appearance; after all the bottle and it’s packaging will have to be reflected in the overall look of the aftershave. After looking back at my chosen list i’ve decided that the rather old brand Hendrick’s Gin lacks on the interesting bottle front and even though I could probably smarten it up a little… it’s been taken off the list! Here are my final 3:

From the above images I think i’m going to go with Canadian Club Whiskey!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Alcoholic Drinks Research at Taylor Sim.

meta

