The Flavour Thesaurus

21/01/2014 § Leave a comment

The Flavour Thesaurus

As the data i’m collecting is about baking and the industry, I had a rummage around my mums vast book collection and came upon The Flavour Thesaurus by Niki Segnit that she bought in Oxfam for only £2.99 – bargain! Now technically, flavour has no input into my data collection at the moment but the cover really grabbed my attention. The book basically outlines what flavours go together well in the form of a wheel diagram:

I decided to post this to my blog as I haven’t really posted anything substantial in a while and it’s a good way to get back into and is helping me to focus on the new data brief. I think the way they’ve chosen to present a fairly boring topic in such a bold yet simplistic way is amazing. For my first ever Golden Record project at University I used a colour pin wheel where you matched the definition to the vector of the animal and designed it with children in mind. But with this you don’t see any childish ways about it.

I think this is a good example of presenting data in a sophisticated format and I should take it on board when presenting mine.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Flavour Thesaurus at Taylor Sim.

meta

