Hatching Typography

21/10/2013 § Leave a comment

Today Rob introduced us to the term ‘hatching‘ and in turn, showed us this video by Erik Van Blokland (typographer). Hatching is basically scribbling but in the formation of shapes that we know as the alphabet. Take a look at Van Blokland in action below to get a better understanding of the term:

We were then given half an hour to have a go on our own at hatching some letters. It was a little daunting at first, my first thought was “this is going to be hard“. To keep control of your pen whilst scribbling in the form of letters sounded difficult. However, once I started I actually found it therapeutic and relaxing. It was easy enough to get a basic letter shape and more control helped make them into something actually usable! I will definitely keep this up as it’s fun as well as helping me develop my typography design.

My first go at drafting!

My first go at hatching!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hatching Typography at Taylor Sim.

meta

